Return to Headlines

Congratulations to Methacton's National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists and Commended Students!

National Merit Semifinalists


Methacton Announces 15 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists!


The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has notified the Methacton School District that 15 Methacton High School students have been identified among the approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the  64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.


We congratulate the following students, pictured at right (back row, left to right) Elijah Smith, Adam Zhang, Brian Lee, Joshua Zhong, Daniel Falvo, Harsha Santhanam, Steven Zeng, Matthew Capece, (front row, left to right) Yu Liu, Angie Kuang, Tulsi Patel, Amy Ouyang, Ashley Liu, and Micaela Senderak. Not pictured: Ishaan Patel.


We are also proud to congratulate our commended students! These students are Davron Boran, Johathan Cheng, Alden Ford, Howard Fu, Saket Gokhale, Tyler Katz, Garrett McPhillips, Kristina Pupkiewicz, Jason Qiu, Anna Ryu, Reilly Smith, Rebecca Sobeck, Justin Suh, Neha Vagvala, and Rebekah Varghese.


These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title. 


Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.